Components of Governance

To ensure effective governance (quality and safety), the Foundation Trust has identified a number of key components of good governance:

1. Driving quality improvement

Clinical audit - this is a quality improvement process that seeks to improve patient care and outcomes through systematic review of care against explicit criteria, followed by implementation of change.

Research and Development - research and development projects attempt to derive generalisable new knowledge by addressing clearly defined questions with systematic and rigorous methods.

Evidence based practice - this is ensuring that HHFT applies national and international guidelines and best practice when giving care.

Patient outcomes - it is important to measure how good our care is and to make sure it delivers expected outcomes for our patients.

2. Ensuring safety (patients and staff)

Infection prevention and control - minimising the risk of getting an infection when you are a patient.

Patient safety - this simply means preventing and minimising harm to patients.

Health and safety - providing a safe environment for patients, staff and visitors and protecting them from hazards in the workplace.

3. Reducing risks

Risk management - it is important to identify risks and stop things from going wrong, to learn when things do go wrong, and to plan for unexpected disruptions.

4. Listening to patient and public experiences

Customer Care - the Customer Care Service receive and respond to feedback, comments and compliments from members of the public.

Complaints and Claims - it is important that all complaints and claims are investigated fully and responded to within agreed time frames. In addition, action plans are implemented to prevent the same thing happening to someone else.

Surveys - regular patient and public surveys are undertaken to gather feedback which can be used to improve our services.

5. National standards and legal requirements

External Bodies

There are a number of external bodies that HHFT is accountable to, including but not limited to:

  • Care Quality Commission
  • NHS Litigation Authority
  • Health and Safety Executive
  • Department of Health
  • NICE (National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence)